Bohol Adventure

Last november 2012, I had a chance to unwind from the torture of reviewing for the bar exam. And what the best way to unwind? Visit bohol of course! I have been longing to visit this lovely place with friends. Unfortunately, friends of mine changed their minds and I was left alone. Well, i had a good time. Bohol is known for prestine white sand beaches in the island of panglao. I made it a point to visit the white sand beach. And it didn’t fail me. The water is crystal clear, the sand is pure white and flour-like, and the resorts are amazing. The coastline is impressed with amazing sand couture that embraces the emerald green water. Foreigners are everywhere and local tourists as well.

DSC_0394 DSC_0358 DSC_0425 DSC_0352 DSC_0349 DSC_0393 DSC_0426 DSC_0327 DSC_0420 DSC_0342 DSC_0337 DSC_0433 DSC_0432 DSC_0431

Bohol is also known for its centuries-old churches. I made sure to visit these churches. And I was amazed. The baroque-designed churches were well preserved, etching in each and every part the history of the boholanons. This devout catholic province really take care and pride of its town’s treasure. Some of these churches are UNESCO world heritage sites and really a place to behold!!!

DSC_0221 DSC_0224 DSC_0226 DSC_0232 DSC_0240 DSC_0246 DSC_0310 DSC_0300

And of course, I tried their world famous Loboc river cruise. It was a 2-kilometer river boat ride (my estimate) in the turquoise water. I was greeted by a lovely team of folk singers and dancers who performed their way to the tune of the local folk song. Foreigners and local tourists alike joined them in this reverie. It was a good experience especially when I these foreigners danced the “TINIKLING” – a filipino traditional folk dance. Luckily they didn’t have their feet trapped between the bamboos!!! At the end of the boat ride is the an amazing waterfall that will surely take your breath away!

DSC_0175 DSC_0164 DSC_0172 DSC_0184 DSC_0195 DSC_0204 DSC_0160 dsc_0195.jpg

I visited the natural habitat of the world’s smallest primate – the tarsier. This small nocturnal animal preys in insects. They are so small that it will fit in your pocket (I wish i sneaked some!). These endangered mammals are so cute and well protected. Warning to future visitors: No camera flash allowed!

DSC_0134 DSC_0145 DSC_0146 DSC_0138

Of course, I will not leave Bohol without visiting another UNESCO heritage world site – the famous Chocolate Hills. These mound of lands are made from shells that rose up millions of years ago. They are green during rainy season but its true chocolate color goes out during the dry-summer season. I had an occasion to take a lot of pictures of this magnificent place.

DSC_0284 DSC_0285 DSC_0265 DSC_0275 DSC_0279 DSC_0269 DSC_0266 DSC_0268

Truly, something that Filipinos are proud of!

About ahgapito

A lawyer on weekdays, college professor on weekends, and a full time traveler. I love meeting people and joining language exchange meetups. I dream of going to Europe and South America. I love cheese, reading books and taking a long deep breath. Join my adventure and who knows, we can be very good friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bohol Adventure

  1. john tugano says:

    Astounded! What a terrific adventure you got here buddy.I hope in time I can set foot in here.It’s like you brought Bohol in front of me hehe.

    • ahgapito says:

      Hi dude! thanks…I have a lot of pictures but I don’t have time to attach all of them. It’s like 500+..hahaha. Yeah, Bohol is really one of the best places to visit. You have to go there one of these days. 5-star for the whole province!

Leave a comment