Malaysia Day 1 (Batu caves and city center)

Three Day Malaysian Tour

Day 1. Batu Caves, Kuala Lumpur City Center and Malaysia Heritage Walk at Night.

                This is my first time to travel outside of the Philippines. As a first timer, I really don’t know what to do or expect. Since this trip coincides with my long time to review for an exam (8 months), I really don’t have enough time to research about the things to do or places to go to. I just booked a ticket via AirAsia from Manila to Kuala Lumpur (for only 1300 Php or $35), I got a promo ticket and it was a great deal. Came Nov. 4, at 5:45 AM, the plane left Manila for Kuala Lumpur and I arrived around 10:20 AM. 

                Upon arriving at the airport (LCCT Airport), I rode a bus (LCCT bus) which I pre-booked online together with the airfare. I suggest travellers getting AirAsia should take this because this airport is a 45 min – 1 hour drive from the City. Getting a bus around LCCT airport is a bit expensive, and this one is only for $3 online. Riding the LCCT bus to the city, I was so amused by how clean and tidy Malaysia is. There are rubber or palm tree plantations in both sides. Traffic is not an issue at all because they have these newly reconstructed roads which give the cars and buses a convenient journey in all the streets. Definitely, it was a smooth ride.

                The LCCT bus dropped me at the Kuala Lumpur Central Train Station. Since I don’t have hostels or guesthouse to stay in, I decided to take the train going to Batu Caves. Bringing my 2 heavy bags, I hopped the train going to Batu Cave. It was KTM, the fare was only 1 MYR. Batu Cave was the last station. The train was delayed for 20 minutes, but still, I could say that it was a very good train. Spacious and cold. It looks new, and the tracks as well.  The travel lasted for 45 minutes, I think. It was so convenient that at the end of the station, you just need to go out and right after going out is the entrance to Batu Caves. There is no entrance fee and the best part is that the place is so pretty.

Image(The entrance to the Batu Caves)

                When I went there, there was some kind of a Buddhist ceremony going on. Some Indian families were going inside the cave, looked like there was a pilgrimage. They were lighting candles in each and every step going to the cave. Some dropped papers and rice, while others collected those already placed in each step. I didn’t ask what kind of ceremony was that but one thing is for sure, it was a religious one. With their barefoot, they climbed the stairs to the cave under the scorching heat of the sun. Well, it was some sort of pilgrimage for me too because I have to carry my heavy bags, not to mention that I am pretty heavy too. A lot of tourists – locals and foreigners alike –  were there taking pictures and enjoying the view. Some were playing with the monkeys around the temple and happily giving these creatures with food. At the top of the climb was a huge cave, amazing that it took all my tiredness away because it was cold inside. Walking inside the 200-300 meter cave, you will reach the main altar where people seat down and pray in a center temple. The temple is adorned by Buddha images and other idols (which I cannot identify for I don’t have much knowledge of Buddhism). I stayed there for an hour enjoying the view and taking pictures. It was an amazing sight.

ImageImage

                After this, I left the place and adorned the plaza in front of the giant gold statue. It was a nice place full of pigeons. Photo enthusiasts took some pictures of the pigeons flying and flocking all over the area, others were enjoying feeding them. In the left side of the Cave was a garden adorned by koi fishes, fountains and some animals in cages. This magnificent man made falls gave me a chilling feeling. It was so refreshing to see these things coming in together  – nature and man-made beauty. What a sight to behold.

ImageImageImageImage

                I left the place around 3 PM. The train fare was 1.50MYR going to the Kuala Lumpur Central Station. Upon arriving in the City Center, I tried to look for a good place to stay. Luckily, Malaysians speak English pretty well and I didn’t have a hard time looking for a place. They told me that there are cheap accommodations in the China Town area and that that place is a haven for shoppers. The place  is very convenient for travelers as many buses pass by this place, and it is near a train station.

ImageImage

                So, scouting the area for a cheap place, I got this hotel along petaling st. It was Petaling hotel and they gave me a good rate at 40 MYR  for one night (they don’t have a solo room, and I don’t have enough time to look for some guesthouse. Compared to other hostel/hotels in the area, this one was the cheapest). 

                Definitely, Batu Cave was a good place to go to. Highly recommended.!!!Good view near the city.

             

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

 

  On my next post, I’ll write about the night life in Kuala Lumpur on my first day. J Follow me also here as I will put my total shocking expenses (less than $100) in my 3D/2N Malaysian trip.

NEXT POST:ImageImageImageImage

               

About ahgapito

A lawyer on weekdays, college professor on weekends, and a full time traveler. I love meeting people and joining language exchange meetups. I dream of going to Europe and South America. I love cheese, reading books and taking a long deep breath. Join my adventure and who knows, we can be very good friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment